Civil Service Commission

Authorized by W.Va. Code 7-14-3, the Civil Service Commission shall consist of three commissioners that are appointed by the bar association of the county, deputy sheriff's association of the county, and the Berkeley County Commission, respectively.

The clerk of the County Commission, commonly known as the Berkeley County Clerk, serves as ex officio clerk of the Civil Service Commission and is to supply all necessary clerical and stenographic services for the work of the civil service commission.

More information about Deputy Sheriff Civil Service and the requirements to be a Berkeley County Deputy Sheriff is available by contacting the Berkeley County Clerk’s Office, Monday through Friday, 8:00 am to 5:00 pm at (304) 264-1927.


 James Moffitt - President (County Commission Representative) 
Steven Dopson Sr. - (Deputy Sheriffs’ Association Representative) 
Dale Buck - (Eastern Panhandle Bar Association Representative)